Short Bio

Fernando A. Kuipers is an associate professor and head of the Lab on Internet Science at Delft University of Technology (TU Delft). In 2004, he obtained his Ph.D. degree cum laude, the highest possible distinction at TU Delft. His research focus is on network optimization, network resilience, Quality of Service, and Quality of Experience and addresses problems in Software-Defined Networking, Tactile Internet, Internet-of-Things, and critical infrastructures. His work on these subjects include distinguished papers at IEEE INFOCOM 2003, Chinacom 2006, IFIP Networking 2008, IEEE FMN 2008, IEEE ISM 2008, ITC 2009, IEEE JISIC 2014, NetGames 2015, and EuroGP 2017.
Fernando Kuipers is senior member of the IEEE, was a visiting scholar at Technion - Israel Institute of Technology (in 2009) and Columbia University in the City of New York (in 2016), and is Vice-Chair of the IFIP Working Group 6.2 on Network and Internetwork Architectures.


  • SAMCRA: Enabling exact Quality-of-Service routing

  • Tools to analyze and address the fragility of critical infrastructures

  • OpenNetMon: Monitoring software-defined networks

  • Techniques for measuring Quality-of-Experience



  • Fernando A. Kuipers and Poul E. Heegaard (eds.), Self-Organizing Systems, Lecture Notes in Computer Science, vol. 7166, Proc. of the 6th IFIP TC6 International Workshop, IWSOS 2012, Delft, The Netherlands, March 15-16, 2012, DOI: 10.1007/978-3-642-28583-7.






  • The source code of the QoS routing algorithms SAMCRA and TAMCRA can be downloaded as zip-file [here], which also contains an example program of how to work with SAMCRA. The algorithms were written in C and make use of some open-source utility functions of the Numerical Recipes software ( To compile, type "make samcra" and to run type "samcra inputfile". (The code was made under UNIX solaris).
    Other software is available via GitHub.


  • Topic Preview co-chair of ACM SIGCOMM 2018, Budapest, Hungary, August 20-24, 2018.
  • TPC co-chair of IFIP Networking 2018, Zurich, Switzerland, May 14-16, 2018.
  • Finance chair of ACM SenSys 2017, Delft, the Netherlands, November 6-8, 2017.
  • General chair of IEEE SCVT 2014, Delft, the Netherlands, November 10, 2014.
  • Member of the local organizing committee of the IEEE Sections Congress 2014, Amsterdam, the Netherlands, August 22-24, 2014.
  • TPC co-chair of IFIP IWSOS 2012, Delft University of Technology, March 15-16, 2012.
  • TPC track co-chair of the track "Multimedia and QoS" at IEEE ICCCN 2009, San Francisco, USA, August 2-6, 2009.
  • Organizer of an industry workshop on Content Distribution Networks, Delft University of Technology, February 19, 2008.


  • TPC member of IEEE ICNP: 2019
  • (Distinguished*) TPC member of IEEE INFOCOM: 2019*, 2018*, 2017*, 2016*, 2015*, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010
  • TPC member of IFIP Networking: 2020, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011
  • TPC member of the ICCCN 2019 track on Software Defined Networks and Network Virtualization Technologies
  • TPC member of the MMSys 2018 special session on multimedia over 5G networks
  • TPC member of the ACM SIGMETRICS international workshop on Critical Infrastructure Network Security (CINS): 2019, 2018, 2017
  • TPC member of the international conference on Optical Network Design and Modeling (ONDM): 2015
  • TPC member of the International Teletraffic Congress (ITC): 2013
  • TPC member of the IEEE Symposium on Communications and Vehicular Technology (SCVT): 2017, 2016, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009
  • TPC member of the international workshop on Future Multimedia Networking (FMN): 2012, 2009, 2008
  • TPC member of the international conference on Wired/Wireless Internet Communications (WWIC): 2011, 2010
  • TPC member of the international workshop on Evaluation for Self-Adaptive and Self-Organizing Systems (Eval4SASO): 2012
  • TPC member of the EINS Workshop on Understanding the inter-play between sustainability, resilience, and robustness in networks (USRR): 2014
  • TPC member of the international workshop on Modeling, Analysis, and Control of Complex Networks (Cnet): 2011
  • TPC member of the international conference on User Centric Media (UCMedia): 2009
  • TPC member of the international conference on advances in multimedia (MMEDIA): 2009
  • TPC member of the international conference on Communications and Networking in China (ChinaCom): 2008
  • TPC member of the international Workshop on QoS Routing (WQoSR), October 1, 2004

PhD supervision


  • Lecturer of the MSc course "High-Performance Data Networking" (since November 2015)
  • Lecturer of the MSc course "Measuring and Simulating the Internet" (since February 2007)
  • Lecturer of the BSc course "Telecommunication Networks" (September 2010 - August 2017)
  • Lecturer of the MSc course "Advances in Networking" (September 2004 - August 2009, October 2014)
  • Guest-lecturer of the MSc course "Advances in Networking" (November 2003 and October 2009 - October 2013)
  • Co-lecturer of the MSc course "Complex Networks" (September 2010 - August 2012)
  • Co-lecturer of the BSc course "Ethiek en Techniek" (2007)
  • Corrector of homework exercises for the MSc course "Performance Analysis" (2002-2005)
  • Lecturer for a masterclass on Routing (April 2004)



  • Technical University of Munich, Munich, Germany, June 18 - 29, 2018.
  • Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Budapest, Hungary, May 14 - 20, 2017.
  • Columbia University, New York, USA, February 1 - July 31, 2016.
  • Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium, September 15-26, 2014.
  • Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India, Jan. 7-11, 2013 & Oct. 16-21, 2016 & Feb. 27 - March 3, 2018.
  • Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel, Jan. 26 - Mar. 26, 2009.
  • Alcatel CRC, Antwerp, Belgium, Aug. 12 - Oct. 29, 1999.


  • Co-founder of Do IoT.
  • Vice-Chair, since June 2019, of the IFIP Working Group 6.2 on Network and Internetwork Architectures.
  • Member, Sep. 2017 - Dec. 2018, of the program advisory board of SURFnet on connecting infrastructures.
  • Board member, 2017 - 2018, of The Royal Netherlands Society of Engineers (KIVI), section Telecommunication.
  • Co-initiator, in 2016, of The Things Network Delft community on LoRaWAN.
  • Co-founder (and member of the Steering Board 2012 - 2015) of PowerWeb.
  • IEEE Counselor, since June 2011, of the IEEE Student Branch Delft.
  • Member, since March 2009, of the executive committee of the IEEE Benelux chapter on communications and vehicular technology.
  • Member, in 2008, of the Future Media and 3D Internet Task Force of the EU.
  • Chairman of the board of examiners for the two MSc programs Computer Engineering and Embedded Systems (2008 - 2015) and from Oct. 2015 to Dec. 2016 for the two MSc programs Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering at Delft University of Technology.
  • Member of the board of examiners of the faculty Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Science at Delft University of Technology (Novermber 2008 - December 2016) and member of the 3TU board of examiners for the 3TU MSc program Embedded Systems (2011 - 2015). 3TU refers to a collaboration between the three leading universities of technology in the Netherlands - Delft University of Technology, Eindhoven University of Technology and the University of Twente.
  • Member of the Program committee of Computer Engineering at Delft University of Technology (2008).
  • Reviewer for many journals and conferences, among which: IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, IEEE JSAC, IEEE Communications Magazine, Computer Networks, Computer Communications, and IEEE INFOCOM.

Contact details

Fernando Kuipers
Mekelweg 4
2628 CD, Delft
The Netherlands

PGP public key